How Can I Help Campaign from Home?

Several people have contacted us asking how best to help the campaign now that you have some free time over spring break. Here’s a 1-2-3 list for quickly pitching in.

By Shane Parmely, SDEA Board member and Candidate for SDEA President

For any of these methods, check out our elevator pitch to help you quickly explain why you support our slate and why you hope your friends do, too. Also, make sure you’ve downloaded and printed one of our Board fliers and CTA fliers so you can help people figure out who they can vote for.

1.CALL. You — yes YOU — have a wealth of campaign contacts in your pocket. I bet every single one of us has somewhere between 5 and 50 other teachers and fellow SDEA members in our phones. Remember, we lost two seats in the last election by just a handful of votes. Getting your 3 friends to vote could seriously make the difference. Phoning is the best method for getting people to vote, so if you’ve got the time, pick this option.

Here’s a sample phone call or message:

Hi, it’s NAME! I’m calling about the upcoming SDEA election. Ballots go out this Friday, April 4. I’m supporting Shane Parmely for President and the reform group she’s running with. I have a website where you can learn more information about them: www.strongunionstrongcontract.com. I also have a flyer here with me so I can help figure out who you’re eligible to vote for. I hope you’ll support them, too, but either way I hope you vote! Hope you’re having a great vacation, and please give me a call back if you want to talk more!

2.TEXT. Text everyone you know reminding them about the election and asking them to support our slate of candidates. If you’re out of town but still want to help out, or if you’ve made your phone calls and want to do a reminder once ballots go out, this is the way to go.

Here’s a sample text message you could send:

Hi, it’s NAME! I’m texting because ballots go out for our SDEA election this Friday. I’m supporting Shane Parmely for President and the reform group she’s running with. Check out www.strongunionstrongcontract.com. Hope you’re having a great vacation, and let me know if you want to talk!

You can also take a screen-shot of our flier on your phone, and text that image out to your friends.  To take a screen-shot on an iPhone, click the home button and the power button at the same time. To take a screen-shot on another phone… ask Google! 🙂

3. EMAIL. If you have personal (NOT sandi.net) emails for your colleagues, now is the time to use them. This is a good way to supplement the phone calls and texts you’re sending.

Here’s a sample email you can send:

Hi, it’s NAME! I’m emailing about the upcoming SDEA election. Ballots go out this Friday, April 4. I’m supporting Shane Parmely for President and the reform group she’s running with. Here’s some more information about them: http://www.strongunionstrongcontract.com. I hope you’ll support them, too, but either way I hope you vote! Hope you’re having a great vacation, and please shoot me an email or give me a call at PHONE NUMBER if you want to talk more!

BONUS ROUND: Are you on FaceBook? Twitter? Instagram? Some other new-fangled thing that I don’t know about yet? Use it to get the word out!  You can post the image of our flier and a link to our http://www.strongunionstrongcontract.com website.

If you want to do even more, please email shane.parmely@gmail.com. We can use all the volunteers we can get this week. 🙂

Strong union, strong contract, here we come!

 

Leave a Reply

