Incumbent-slate Candidate Bacon Contacts Me at Personal Email Address That I Never Gave Him

Maybe this story is starting to sound familiar. On Oct. 15, Malykke Bacon, SDEA President Bill Freeman’s endorsed candidate for the SDEA Board seat that represents my school, sent me a campaign email using an email address I never gave him. I have only given it to SDEA and SDUSD.

By Steve Brown, Garfield High School member

Here is Bacon’s email:

Malykke email 1

I responded asking how he’d gotten my personal email address…

steve response

…and got back this vague reply:

malykke response

I responded one more time trying to pin him down on how he’d gotten this email, and letting him know I was concerned about potential campaign violations:

steve response2

I never heard from him again.

I can only now assume that my concerns are correct, and that Bacon did in fact get my email address from members of SDEA’s incumbent leadership who have access to this information and are now using it to campaign for the candidates they support. I also have a hard time with Bacon’s statement that he is “not a part of any faction.” He is running on a Freeman-endorsed slate alongside current SDEA Board member Scott Mullin, current SDEA Election Committee Co-Chair Kandi Nieto, current SDEA Vice President Lindsay Burningham, and former SDEA Vice President Marc Capitelli. That sounds like a faction to me.

SDEA members deserve a fair election, where all candidates have access to the same campaign resources. That’s not what we’re getting.

2 thoughts on “Incumbent-slate Candidate Bacon Contacts Me at Personal Email Address That I Never Gave Him

  1. Pingback: “Close Reading” of Bill Freeman’s Campaign Robo-Call | The Breakfast Club Action Group

  2. Pingback: Incumbent Slate Using District Lists to Send Mailers | The Breakfast Club Action Group

Leave a Reply

